Media Honor Roll

Reporters and local media outlets play an important role in public education. School division leaders rely on responsible reporting by local media representatives so that our community members receive timely information about division initiatives and programs. Considering the impact that media coverage can have on community attitudes and beliefs, the Media Honor Roll was created to recognize fair and balanced reporting about our schools and Virginia’s public education system.

Each year, in the early Fall, the VSBA Media Honor Roll recognizes media representatives in three categories:  print, radio, and television. Criteria for honorees include the following:  

  1. Makes the effort to get to know the superintendent and board chairman.
  2. Understands the division’s mission and goals.
  3. Reports school news in a manner that is fair, accurate, and balanced.
  4. Gives a high-profile position to good news about schools.
  5. Regularly visits the schools, attends board meetings, etc.
  6. Maintains a policy of “no surprises” by sharing information with school representatives.

Recipients of the 2017 VSBA Media Honor Roll are listed below.  

Alleghany County
Darrell Gleason, The Virginian Review
Jerry Clark, The Alleghany Journal 

Bath County
Larry O’Rourke, The Virginian Review
Amanda McGuire, Allegheny Mountain
Radio – WCHG
Geoff Hamill, The Recorder 

Buchanan County
Joe St. Clair, The Virginia Mountaineer
The Virginia Mountaineer

Charles City
Andre Jones, New Kent/Charles City Chronicle 

Covington City
Jerome Johnson, The Virginian Review 

Culpeper County
Jonathan Krawchuk 

Cumberland County
Laura McFarland, Cumberland Today 

Falls Church City
Nicholas Benton, Falls Church News Press
Kellye Lynn, WJLA-TV News Channel 8 

Fluvanna County
Ruth Ann Carr, Fluvanna Review
Talya Cunningham, CBS19 

Fredericksburg City
Advanced Media Solutions







Galax City
Shannon Watkins, The Galax Gazette            

Henry County
Amie Knowles, The Martinsville Bulletin
Rodney Billings, BTW21

Isle of Wight
Stephen Cowles, Tidewater News/Windsor Weekly

Lexington City
Bruce Young, WDBJ7
Beth Homicz, The News Gazette
Doug Harwood, Rockbridge Advocate

Louisa County
Deana Meredith

Martinsville City
Brian Carlton, The Martinsville Bulletin
Amie Knowles, The Martinsville Bulletin

Montgomery County
Justin Ward, WDBJ7
Eamon O’Meara, WDBJ7

Nelson County
Emily Brown, Nelson County Times

New Kent County
Andre Jones, New Kent Charles City Chronicle

Newport News City
Jane Hammond, Daily Press

Prince George County
Meredith Baker, Prince George Journal




Pulaski County
The Southwest Times
The Patriot                           

Radford City
Eamon O’Meara, WDBJ7
Josh Smith, Bobcat Sports Live - Basketball
Timothy Worles, Bobcat Sports Live – Basketball
Jeff Kleppin, Bobcat Sports Live - Football
Richie Davis, Bobcat Sports Live - Football

Roanoke County
Debbie Adams, The Vinton Messenger
Sara Gregory, The Roanoke Times
Jenna Zibton, WSLS

Rockbridge County
Bruce Young, WDBJ7 Television

Smyth County
Linda Burchette, Smyth County News & Messenger

Tazewell County
Warren Hinkle, The Voice
Jim Talbert, Clinch Valley News

West Point Town
Jack Jacobs, Tidewater Review
Tidewater Review

Westmoreland County
Westmoreland News
Northern Neck Free Press