

Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

## **News Release**

For Immediate Release

## Contact

Gina Patterson, executive director 434-295-8722 or gina@vsba.org



## Teddy Martin II Elected VSBA President; New Board of Directors Announced

**November 19, 2021** – Teddy Martin II, who has served on the Henry County School Board since 2017, has been named president of the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) at the association's annual convention, which took place November 17-19 in Williamsburg, VA, as well as streamed online.

Martin has served four years on the Henry County School Board and held several leadership positions with the VSBA, including serving as president- elect, chair of the Blue Ridge region, served on the VSBA Executive Committee and serves as co-chair of the VSBA Task Force on Workforce Readiness.

"I am deeply honored to accept this important role and to serve the Virginia School Boards Association membership." said Martin. "Now more than ever, it is critical that we all step up to do our part to support one another as we strive to both advocate and do what is best for the students and families in the school districts across this great Commonwealth. I look forward to collaborating with educational partners to ensure that our students and school staff members feel empowered to achieve their goals."

In addition to Martin, David Woodard of Tazewell County was elected president-elect, and Sherrie Page, Orange County and Raymond Whitaker, Essex County were elected as members-at-large. VSBA's 2020-2021 president, Janet Turner-Giles of Nelson County, will serve on the VSBA Board of Directors as immediate past president.

President Martin appointed Cardell Patillo of Portsmouth City as chair of the VSBA Finance/Audit Committee, and appointed Dr. James E. Coleman Jr. of Lynchburg City as chair of the VSBA Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee.

VSBA's 2021-2022 Regional Chairs are: Lurton B. Lyle of Dickenson County, Diana L. Williams of Waynesboro City, Mary M. Benjamin of Dinwiddie County, Gunin A. Kiran of Montgomery County, JoWanda Rollins-Fells of Caroline County, Sharon Felton of Virginia Beach City, Amy McClure of Lunenburg County, Jason Collier of Greene County and Karen Corbett Sanders of Fairfax County.

## **About the Virginia School Boards Association**

The Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth's educational leaders.

###