

Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

News Release

For Immediate Release

Contact:

Gina Patterson, executive director 434-295-8722 or gina@vsba.org

Tazewell County School Board Member David Woodard Elected VSBA President; New Board of Directors Announced

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA – David Woodard, who has served on the Tazewell County School Board since 2008, has been named president of the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) at the association's annual convention, which took place November 16-18 in Williamsburg, VA.

Woodard has served 14 years on the Tazewell County School Board and held several leadership positions on the state level and has participated on various boards which include the VSBA Legislative Positions Committee, VSBA Board of Directors as a Regional Chair and Committee Chair, VSBA Finance/Audit Committee, VSBA Grass Roots Advocacy Team, VSBA Executive Committee, VDOE Student Support and Conduct Committee, VDOE Principal & Superintendent Performance Evaluation System Work Group, the VSBA Task Force on Students and Schools in Challenging Environment, and co-chair of the VSBA Task Force on School Infrastructure Needs.

"I am honored to serve as VSBA President for the upcoming year," said Woodard. "It is not something that I take lightly and will put my all into, just as I have done while serving on the Tazewell County School Board. I look forward to collaborating with all of you as educational leaders and board members to continue the efforts of advocating for and supporting student success."

In addition to Woodard, Cardell Patillo of Portsmouth City was named president-elect, and JoWanda Rollins-Fells of Caroline County and Raymond Whitaker of Essex County were elected as members-at-large. VSBA's 2021-2022 president, Teddy D. Martin, II of Henry County, will serve on the VSBA Board of Directors as immediate past president.

President Woodard appointed Sherrie Page of Orange County as chair of the VSBA Finance/Audit Committee, and appointed James Coleman of Lynchburg City as chair of the VSBA Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee.

VSBA's 2022-2023 Regional Chairs are: Julie Nix of Franklin County – Blue Ridge Region, James Bryant of Charlottesville City – Central Region, Kathleen Beane of Richmond County – Eastern Region, Karen Corbett Sanders of Fairfax County – Northeastern Region, Amy McClure of Lunenburg County – Southern Region, Chris Johnson of Prince George County – Southside Region, William "Bill" H. Sturgill of Carroll County – Southwest Region, Karen Jenkins of Suffolk City – Tidewater Region, and Michael Lake of Frederick County – Valley Region.

--MORE-



Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

2022-2023 VSBA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT

David Woodard
Tazewell County

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Cardell Patillo
Portsmouth City

PAST PRESIDENT

Teddy D. Martin, II

Henry County

COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS

Finance/Audit Committee Chair

Sherrie Page Orange County

Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee Chair

James Coleman Lynchburg City

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

Raymond Whitaker Essex County

JoWanda Rollins-Fells
Caroline County

REGIONAL CHAIRPERSONS

Blue Ridge

Julie Nix Franklin County

Central

James Bryant Charlottesville City

Eastern

Kathleen Beane Richmond County

Northeastern

Karen Corbett Sanders
Fairfax County

Southern

Amy McClure Lunenburg County

Southside

Chris Johnson
Prince George County

Southwest

William "Bill" Sturgill

Carroll County

Tidewater

Karen Jenkins Suffolk City

Valley

Michael Lake Frederick County

###

About the Virginia School Boards Association

The Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth's educational leaders.