

Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

# **News Release**

For Immediate Release

### Contact

Gina Patterson, executive director 434-295-8722 or gina@vsba.org

#### **VSBA Announces New Board of Directors**

**November 20, 2020** – The Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) announced the newly elected Board of Directors members during the association's annual convention, which took place virtually from November 18-20.

Four Regional Chairs return to the Board to complete the second year of their term. Those include Sherrie Page of Orange County, Barbara Kanninen of Arlington County, Gavin Honeycutt of Mecklenburg County, Douglas Brown of Newport News City.

The newly elected Regional Chairs to VSBA's 2020-2021 Board of Directors are: Gunin A. Kiran of Montgomery County, who will serve as the Blue Ridge Regional Chair, JoWanda Rollins-Fells of Caroline County, who will serve as the Eastern Regional Chair, Mary Benjamin of Dinwiddie County, who will serve as the Southside Regional Chair, Lurton Lyle of Dickenson County, who will serve as the Southwest Regional Chair, and Diana Williams of Waynesboro City, who will serve as the Valley Regional Chair. These Chairs will serve a two year term on the state Association Board.



Kiran



Rollins-Fells



Benjamin



Lyle



**Williams** 

--MORE-



Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

#### 2-2-2/VSBA NEW BOARD OF DIRECTORS

#### 2020-2021 VSBA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

### **PRESIDENT**

Janet Turner-Giles Nelson County

# PRESIDENT-ELECT

Teddy D. Martin, III

Henry County

# **PAST PRESIDENT**

Rodney A. Jordan Norfolk City

# COMMITTEE CHAIRS

**Finance/Audit Committee Chair** 

James E. Coleman Lynchburg City

# Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee Chair

David R. Woodard Tazewell County

#### **MEMBERS-AT-LARGE**

Iris A. Lane
Westmoreland County

Cardell C. Patillo Portsmouth City

# **REGIONAL CHAIRS**

Blue Ridge

Gunin A. Kiran

Montgomery County

Central

Sherrie W. Page Orange County

Eastern

JoWanda Rollins-Fells
Caroline County

Northeastern

Barbara J. Kanninen *Arlington County* 

Southern

Gavin L. Honeycutt Mecklenburg County

Southside

Mary M. Benjamin Dinwiddie County Southwest

Lurton B. Lyle Dickenson County

**Tidewater** 

Douglas C. Brown Newport News City

Valley

Diana L. Williams Waynesboro City

# **About the Virginia School Boards Association**

The Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth's educational leaders.

###