

Rivanna Ridge Professional Building 200 Hansen Road, Suite 2 Charlottesville, VA 22911

# **News Release**

For Immediate Release

#### Contact

Dr. Lee Brannon, School Specialist 844-986-2705 or lbrannon@riskprograms.com

# 8 School Divisions Earn Risk Management Awards

**November 18, 2021** – Eight Virginia school divisions were recognized in the Excellence in Risk Management Awards presented by VACORP at the VSBA Annual Convention. VACORP provides coverage and risk management services to school divisions, public entities and related organizations across the commonwealth of Virginia.

The following school divisions were recognized today at the general session of the VSBA Annual Convention held in Williamsburg, VA. This is the fourth-year awards were presented.

#### Workers' Compensation

Less Than 5,000 Students – Bath County Public Schools & Richmond County Public Schools 5,001 – 10,000 Students – Isle of Wight County Public Schools More Than 10,001 Students – Arlington County Public Schools

## **Property/Casualty**

Less Than 5,000 Students – Sussex County Public Schools & Highland County Public Schools 5,001 – 10,000 Students – Tazewell County Public Schools More Than 10,001 Students – Williamsburg James City County Public Schools

"It is an honor to recognize school divisions that are excelling in risk management and are truly putting a focus on strong safety, injury prevention and property protection practices," said Dr. Lee Brannon, School Specialist of VACORP, "It is our hope that school divisions across the commonwealth will learn from the award recipients regarding the best practices in risk management so that proactive practices can be emulated across Virginia."

## About the Virginia School Boards Association

The Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth's educational leaders.

###