Board of Directors


  • Scott M. Albrecht
    Scott M. Albrecht (bio)
    Manassas City
  • Scott has been an elected member of the City of Manassas School Board since 2000 and currently serves as vice-chairman of the board. He also serves as chairman of the regional Governor’s School at Innovation Park Board, and has previously served as chairman of his local board, chairman of the VSBA Northeastern Region, a member of the VSBA Virtual Learning Task Force, a member of the VSBA Insurance Pools Supervisory Board, and a member of the NSBA Federal Relations Network.

  • R. Tyrone Foster
    R. Tyrone Foster (bio)
    Bristol City
  • Tyrone was elected to the school board in 2008 as a write-in candidate and ran unopposed in 2012. He has served as local board chairman, and is currently in his second year as a VSBA at-large member. He has also been involved with the VSBA as Southwest Region chairman, a member of the VSBA Nominating Committee, a member of the VSBA Task Force on Schools in Challenging Environments, and a member of the VSBA Audit Committee. Tyrone, a lifelong resident of Bristol, VA, is a product of Bristol City Public Schools, and his five children and three grandchildren attend or attended Bristol City Public Schools, as well. Tyrone studied at Bristol Commercial College and graduated from the Southwest Law Enforcement Academy. He served as PTA president at Stonewall Jackson Elementary School and vice-president at Virginia Middle School.

  • Robert L. Hundley, Jr.
    Robert L. Hundley, Jr. (bio)
    Hanover County
  • Bob has been a member of the Hanover County School Board since 2004, serving four years as the board’s chair. Prior to being elected president, Bob's experiences with the VSBA include serving as a VSBA at-large member and as chairman of the Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee. Bob has also served on the Virginia Department of Education's Advisory Committee for the Education of the Gifted, as a member of the VSBA Task Force on Schools in Challenging Environments, and as the VSBA representative on the Assessment Roundtable.

Committee Chairmen

  • Rodney Jordan
    Finance/Audit Committee
    Rodney Jordan (bio)
    Norfolk City
  • Rodney has served on the Norfolk School Board since 2012 and currently serves as chairman. He previously served as vice-chairman and chairman of the VSBA Tidewater Region and as co-chairman of the VSBA Task Force on Schools in Challenging Environments.

  • Beth Hardy
    Legislative Positions/Federal Relations
    Beth Hardy (bio)
    Goochland County
  • Beth has been a member of the Goochland County School Board since 2011, where she has previously served as chair and is currently vice-chair. She has served as chair of the VSBA Southside Region and is currently the chair of the Federal Relations/Legislative Positions Committee. She also represents VSBA on the Executive Committee of the Virginia High School League. Beth is married to Bert, and they have four children, Adrianna, Sara Parker, James and Richard, all of whom have attended Goochland County Public Schools.


  • Janet Turner-Giles
    Janet Turner-Giles (bio)
    Nelson County
  • Janet was elected to the Nelson County School Board in 2013. She has served in the capacity of board vice-chair and as chairman of the board. Janet has a Master’s degree from Averett University and a Business Administration degree from Radford University. She is the Manager of UVA Temporary Search Group and oversees the recruitment and hiring process for temporary employees. Janet and her husband are lifelong residents of Nelson County, VA. Both of them are products of the Nelson County School System and their two children attend Rockfish River Elementary School.

  • Dr. James Meyer
    Dr. James Meyer (bio)
    Spotsylvania County
  • Jim has served as a member of the Spotsylvania County School Board since 2012.

Regional Chairmen

  • Jannan Holmes
    Jannan Holmes (bio)
    Fredericksburg City
  • Teresa Ellison
    Teresa Ellison (bio)
    Buena Vista City
  • Teresa Ellison has served on the school board for Buena Vista City Schools since 2008. She has served VSBA as a past member of the Valley regional nominating committee, a member of the VSBA Finance/Audit committee, a member of the VSBA Legislative Positions Committee and is currently the chairman of the Valley Region.

  • Kenneth Pritchett
    Kenneth Pritchett (bio)
    Petersburg City
  • Kenneth Pritchett has served on the Petersburg City School Board since 2007. He currently serves as chairman, and has served in that role for eleven years. Pritchett serves as a Regional Board Member of Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School for Government and International Studies, Petersburg School Board Disciplinary Committee, and the Petersburg City Partnership with Schools. Prior to serving on the school board he held a leadership position for eight years with the local, state, and district parent teacher association to include President of the Petersburg Citywide Council of PTAs with oversight for 10 local units. Pritchett is a native of Dinwiddie, Virginia and has lived in Petersburg for over 30 years. He is a graduate of Dinwiddie High School, John Tyler Community College and Norfolk State University. Pritchett has served as Vice-Chairman of the Southside Region, and is currently serving as Chairman.

  • Iris Lane
    Iris Lane (bio)
    Westmoreland County
  • Iris Lane has been a member of the Westmoreland County School Board since 2012. Lane was born and raised in Westmoreland County. Lane moved to Washington D.C. and worked in the National Department of Education for 30 years. She retired from the NDOE early in 2009.

  • Beckie Cox
    Blue Ridge
    Beckie Cox (bio)
    Pulaski County
  • Beckie Cox has served on the Pulaski County School Board since 2016. She currently works for New River Community College in Dublin, VA.

  • Cardell C. Patillo
    Cardell C. Patillo (bio)
    Portsmouth City
  • Theresa D. Bryant
    Theresa D. Bryant (bio)
    Buckingham County
  • Paul L. Grinstead
    Paul L. Grinstead (bio)
    Smyth County
  • James E. Coleman
    James E. Coleman (bio)
    Lynchburg City