News Release: 2024 VSBA Board of Directors Announced
NewsPress ReleasesNews Release: 2024 VSBA Board of Directors Announced

News Release

For Immediate Release

November 17, 2023



Gina Patterson, executive director

434-295-8722 or


Portsmouth City School Board Member Dr. Cardell Patillo Elected VSBA President; New Board of Directors Announced

Charlottesville, VA – Dr. Cardell Patillo, who has served on the Portsmouth City School Board since 2015, has been named president of the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) at the association’s Annual Convention, which took place November 15-17 in Williamsburg, VA.

Dr. Patillo has served eight years on the Portsmouth City School Board, two of those years as Board Chair. In addition to his local positions, Dr. Patillo has also held several positions with VSBA including VSBA Legislative Positions Committee Chair, Federal Relations Committee Chair, VSBA Executive Committee member, VSBA At-Large Member, Annual Convention Delegate, and Annual Convention Moderator. Dr. Patillo has also represented VSBA on a number of state committees including Virginia Public Authority Committee, VSBA Alternate Representative on the Children’s Cabinet, and VDOE Advisory Board on Teacher Education and Licensure (ABTEL).

“I am honored and humbled to be selected to serve as VSBA President for the upcoming year. I look forward to representing school board members across the Commonwealth as we work together to continue advocating for students and supporting the success of our public schools,” said Dr. Cardell Patillo.

In addition to Dr. Patillo, Dr. JoWanda Rollins-Fells of Caroline County was named president-elect, and Amy McClure of Lunenburg County and Douglas Brown of Newport News City were elected as members-at-large. VSBA’s 2022-2023 president, David Woodard of Tazewell County, will serve on the VSBA Board of Directors as immediate past president.

President Dr. Patillo appointed Joseph Kilgore of Hampton City as chair of the VSBA Finance/Audit Committee and appointed Diana Williams of Waynesboro City as chair of the VSBA Legislative Positions/Federal Relations Committee.

VSBA’s 2023-2024 Regional Chairs are: [NAME of COUNTY] – Blue Ridge Region, [NAME of COUNTY] – Central Region, Kathleen Beane of Richmond County – Eastern Region, [NAME of COUNTY] – Northeastern Region, [NAME of COUNTY] – Southern Region, Chris Johnson of Prince George County – Southside Region, Jennifer Nichols of Washington County – Southwest Region, [NAME of COUNTY] – Tidewater Region, and Michael Lake of Frederick County – Valley Region.

About the Virginia School Boards Association

The Virginia School Boards Association, a voluntary, nonpartisan organization of Virginia school boards, promotes excellence in public education through advocacy, training, and services. The Association offers conferences, information, training, and counseling designed to meet the needs of the Commonwealth’s educational leaders.


Click here to download this release.